Only registered users can take the quiz - stand a chance to win weekly prizes!   -    

Career Spotlight...


Nick Name
R/ Daudi

What is your current job and where do you work?
R/ MSc (Med) Human Genetics Candidate, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

Explain your current research/work (in simple English)
R/ I am interested in studying differences in the CYP2D6 gene in over 400 African research participants. The CYP2D6 gene is involved in breaking down 25% of the medications commonly prescribed in Africa and worldwide. This work will shed light on how the different forms of CYP2D6 in African individuals influence their response to different medications.

Describe a typical day at work/research
R/ First thing in the morning, I check my email and calendar for any important communications or scheduled meetings. Then I do 1-2 hours of data analysis. In the afternoon, I attend discussions with my colleagues about the project in general and where to direct our effort for the next 3-4 days. In the evening, I do write-ups about my project progress and I also finish up pending work.


What is your favourite hobby?
R/ Playing tennis

What is your favourite food?
R/ Millet and Rice

What was your favourite subject at school and why?
R/ Mathematics was my favourite subject because I enjoyed solving a lot of calculations.

Who is your role model?
R/ My current supervisor, Prof Scott Hazelhurst

What were/are your parents or caregivers professions?
R/ My dad is a retired teacher

Career Path

Primary School: Name, Suburb/Township, City, Country
R/ Ibanda Town Primary School, Ibanda, Uganda

High School
R/ St Henry's College Kitovu, Masaka, Uganda Uganda Martyrs Secondary School Namugongo, Wakiso, Uganda

Tertiary education
R/ Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Previous jobs
R/ Bioinformatics Strategic Intern, Uganda Virus Research Institute

How confident are you in your public engagement skills (2-way communication with the general public)
R/ Confident

How often do you take part in public engagement activities
R/ Often (3 times or less per year)

What attracted you to signing up on mGenAfrica (tick all that apply)
R/ Other